Sugestion for MakerWorld Contests

Wouldn’t it be fairer if entries on contests wouldn’t show info as in: likes, downloads, boosts until the end of the contest? People will be more inclined to print something that’s on top than something that never was downloaded.

I’m typing this with no I’ll intentions as I’ve only participated on one contest and didn’t expect to win as I’m a complete noob modeling.

6 Likes

I am not participating much myself and I kinda like the idea.

2 Likes

Entries are also models outside of the contest.

Hiding this information would penalise a model solely because it was added to a contest.

The judges are tasked with not using that information in judging.

Providing that information to the users doesn’t affect the judging by users as users don’t do the judging.

2 Likes

I like the idea too. In addition the default sort algorithm on the contest page should be “random”.

It’s not a difficult task to hide the mentioned information only on the contest page and not anywhere else.

5 Likes

I agree that an IF statement isn’t hard.

But, if the judges are the only ones looking at the merits of the models, why would removing this information on the contest page improve things, if it appears when they click the model and it is clearly shown?

1 Like

I believe the goal is to achieve a less biased result in terms of user activity, rather than to influence the judges’ perception.

3 Likes

Then maybe we shouldn’t promote the fact a designer has entered a contest.

1 Like

Well, the problem with that is:
Say I want to go fishing and I see that there’s a Bambu contest for fishing. Perfect! I’ll go on there and see… a bunch of random crappy models… so I download nothing.

1 Like

I feel like that’s a given. If someone posted a Fishing model during the fishing contest it’s an entry for sure.

Nobody is stopping you from changing the sorting. By default, you currently see the latest uploads at the top - that doesn’t help either, does it?