Bambu Studio cant find X1E in Lan Only

Hello,

I just got a X1E for work and i am trying to connect it to Bambu Studio. Since it’s a printer for work LAN Only Mode is required. Yet Bambu Studio doesn’t show the printer and i can’t connect.

What i did so far:
Updated the firmware with my Bambu account.
set the printer to LAN Only
connected it via a router to my pc. No other connections on the router, just so the printer gets a IP assigned via DHCP.
I can ping the Printer from my PC.

I’m no networking expert, so i need some help. Is there a way to diagnose, why can i ping, but cant see the printer in Bambu Studio?
Can I actively trigger a search for a printer in Bambu Studio?
Can i specify which network adapter Bambu Studio uses to connect to a printer?

Currently the PC is connected to my normal network via one network adapter and to the printer via another adapter.

I hope i didn’t miss any important information.

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

We are having the exact same issue with out X1E at my work… has anyone else successfully set an X1E up on LAN or WLAN mode? I run a personal P1S at home in WLAN mode with no issues so this is surprising.

Are the printer and desktop on the same logical network? Bambu studio discovers the the printers via broadcast messages, which require them both to be on the same logical network. Many wireless routers will put wireless devices on a different network and DHCP scope than the physically connected devices. Since the wireless router tends to be the default gateway for both the physical and wireless connected devices, the router will route the ping traffic between the two networks and the pings will succeed. That’s just a common example of why it may not be working for you. So the first thing I would look at is that both the computer and printer are on the same network/subnet.

I don’t think that subnets have anything to do with it :wink: