Best filament and setting for Action Figure Models

Quite the noob here in the world of 3D printing. Received my X1-Carbon Combo last Saturday (March 11) and have printed out about a dozen items so far. My main purpose for the printer is as a hobbyist focusing on printing action figures/statues of characters like Lara Croft, Aloy, Resident Evil, Fallout, and probably a bunch of other characters from 4 inches tall and up.

With that in mind, are there any recommendations on the best type of filament (and associated Bambu Studio settings) for these “complex” prints? I plan on painting most, if not all, of these prints (brush and airbrush).

I do understand that the “low polygon” models will only print out so well regardless of the filament or settings, so I am mostly looking at purchasing (and eventually modeling my own) with medium to high polys.

I also would like to know :slight_smile:

1 Like

I printed a lot of Models with the x1.
I use Pla+ and the fine Setting with layer high 1.2 and the results are awesome.

For supports I use hybrid tree support.

2 Likes

Hi, since you seem to be german like me: Where can I buy PLA support filaments on amazon.de or anywhere else? The official from Bambu are sold out.

1 Like
2 Likes

One you can suggest which works fine with the AMS? :slight_smile:

1 Like

I use Verbatim BVOH. It works great with the AMS and is water solutable, so can be removed without any visible traces left.

But I am sure other brand and non water solutable will work as well. Since the stuff is expensive, only use it for the interface layers, not the entire support structure and it will last a long time then.

2 Likes

@swateinheit Do you think there would be any improvement in making the layer height 1.0 or even 0.8? Bear in mind, I intend on priming and painting the action figures, so I was wondering if any noticeable improvement in a smaller layer height would even be seen after that.