Bug in the 3.0 Server/Client Grouping Functionality

There appears to be a bug in the Client software with regard to the visibility of the groups.

I just updated the server and client this morning, and I’m finding that while I immediately created 3 different groups and added printers (based on locations of the printers), the groups don’t appear in my client software after the client is closed and re-opened. The groups don’t show up in the Group column of the printers tab, and the group filter dropdown doesn’t show any of the groups I created. if I click the “Manage Groups” button at the top right of the window, the groups show up, and once I click the back arrow to go back to the printers tab, the groups show up correctly.

This behavior appears to be 100% repeatable if I close the client and re-open it.

If I follow the process above (click the Manage Groups button and back out), and then sign out of the farm client account, I can sign back in with the same credentials or even my admin credentials and the groups appear correctly. So only closing/quitting the client software seems to cause the groups to vanish.

Thanks for the detailed steps! While we haven’t been able to reproduce this exact issue locally yet, we are adding an automatic group-info retry upon client startup in our next release to address it.

To help us verify the fix and trace the root cause, could you please upload your client logs to the ticket?
Path: Settings ➔ Support ➔ Client Logs (open the folder and attach the logs to your ticket).

Thanks for your help and cooperation!