Default Line Width of 0.42

My first post on this forum and I’m going to ask a dumb question… While I’m waiting for my printer to arrive (P1S), I’m trying to get familiar with the slicer software. I’m new to Bambu but not new to 3D printing and have been using Cura for some time. I noticed that the default line width for walls and such is 0.42 instead of 0.4. I guess my question(s) is why 0.42 and not 0.4? And, does this have any effect on dimensional accuracy (both cavity dimensions and overall size?
Sorry if this has been asked about before, I did do some searches first but didn’t find anything.

I suspect you are referring to a 0.4mm nozzle.
A 0.40 width bead thru a 0.40mm nozzle would probable not produce a good layer bond.
A 0.42 width bead adds a little squish to bond the layers.

The concept has been used for some time and depends on your purpose. Besides the already mentioned better adhesion, there are other advantages of the plus 20%, such as stronger parts and a higher flow rate (crucial for high-speed prints);

Theoretically, the slicer will output a g-code accounting for the line width which in a well calinbrated printer will ensure dimensional accuracy. In practice, I am not having any issues with dimensional accuracy, and I mostly print functional parts with different filament materials.

The main issue, not so relevant for me is the influence on the print aesthetics - I can imagine that wall details are more noticeable with a thinner line; also, a beautiful surface depends on the infill, for which a higher line density is better which is achieved with thinner lines;

1 Like

Thanks! Makes perfect sense. I have to hold some pretty tight tolerances so it was a bit concerning.

“Squish” is achieved mostly through layer height. The reason a wider extrusion is used is because you can’t get an “exactly” 0.4mm width from the nozzle nor position it so exactly so that it won’t touch the neighboring layers.