Drying PETG is a waste of energy! (for me)

I know - the title is deliberately provocative in order to attract as many opinions as possible.

For some time now, I have observed the following in many threads in which someone describes a problem when printing with PETG: One of the first responses is often, “You need to dry your filament first, even if it’s new.”
I can’t understand this answer at all - unless it’s about the finishing touches. Let me explain:
I’ve been printing for about 5 years now, 95% PETG (but also some PLA, TPU and ASA), about 100kg so far. I have had many different printers, at the moment a CR-10, a home-made Voron 0.2 and a Bambu X1C. My printers are in the basement, which is only slightly heated, at about 16°C in Hamburg, northern Germany - over the whole year we have an average humidity of about 78% here. Here is a link to the source, so you can compare. I keep all my filament rolls open on a shelf.

And I have never dried a single roll of filament.

To check this again, I took a no-name PETG from my shelf that has been sitting there open since the beginning of the covid-19 era, i.e. for about 3.5 years. I printed a benchy - flawless. Dried for 12 hours - 0.6% weight loss.
I put half the roll in water and let it soak there for 4 days - when printing the Benchy there was a little stringing on the cab - but only 1-2 small threads. The differences can only be seen in good light. Then I dried the filament again for 12 hours: 1.1% weight loss.

For reference, here is the benchy of the absolutely dry filament and the “dipped” one. Both printed with “General PETG / 0.12mm Standard” - no other settings altered, no calibrations made:

To summarize:
For me, drying PETG is pointless unless you value the last ounce of surface quality in a print.

But since there are many makers out there who see it quite differently, I ask myself: What could be the reason for these different experiences?