Filament expansion

I’m using PLA and PLA-C, at 220 and 50 or 55. Bambu preset uses 55. Usually a printer prompt states 55 can cause clogging, if the prompt appears I change to 50. For the past few weeks the AMS can’t retract filament. Bambu wiki indicates filament expansion is the problem.

How is expansion corrected? I’m very new at 3D printing and have not been able to find a solution.

I can’t speak to the AMS problems since I don’t own one. However, I can speak to your interpretation of the Wiki. the 50 and 55 temps refer to the print bed temp. the 220 refers to the nozzle temps. I know of no filament that flows below 190c so this should be an obvious red flag when you’re reading the wikis.

When it comes to filament expansion, be cautious when reading information. Make sure it the wiki isn’t referring to issues caused by moisture, which PETG, PC, and other moisture-absorbing filaments are susceptible to. PLA isn’t prone to absorb moisture, so if you’re reading a wiki discussing filament expansion due to moisture, keep in mind that it won’t be relevant to your PLA use.

The points I’m making is that for the wiki’s to make any sense, you have to master the unique vocabulary of 3D printing. Otherwise, you’ll be doing a lot of guess work. Having said that, you should get accolades for at least doing your homework. Too many folks just throw up their hands.

Thank, I didn’t realize the vocabulary was so complex. I think what is happening is the filament end has started to expand when the print stops. I’m guessing it cools just enough to slightly harden before the spool starts to retract. To retract the filament I pull the filament as the retraction starts. It obviously pops free, than spool retracts just fine.

Does that mean the hot end is too hot? I suspect that is the problem. Perhaps I need to learn how to check the fan speed. Did have to replace the fan awhile back. Don’t remember if problem started right after that.