How are people keeping their filament dry?

To provide context for this post, I have no 3D printing equipment or experience but am looking to purchase. I live in the humid Caribbean and with A/C on 24/7/365, indoor relative humidity is 50%.

The A1 is an interesting proposition, but for infrequent use, having moist filament gives me pause concerning purchasing the combo A1 + AMS. Creating an enclosure for the entire AMS seems a bit daunting as an after the fact project, so how are people dealing with moist filament? Storing filament in a controlled environment away from the AMS defeats the purpose of having the AMS.

I ran across this video that has a general purpose filament storage solution that keeps the product dry and allows for its use.

Do current users see this as a possible viable option to the AMS? As a welder, I could weld up a superstructure above the A1 to hold as many of these gadgets as I like saving desktop real estate.

What say you?

3 Likes

I use plasticbags and a 30g Container. Vaccum added to IT.:grin:

1 Like

If you have the AMS, then youā€™re not getting a convenient full benefit from it by loading and unloading filament as needed. If you donā€™t have the AMS, then your storage mechanism makes sense to me and is what I had considered before I stumbled upon the video I mentioned. I like that guyā€™s solution for its sophistication and the thinking that went into the project.

Are you an infrequent user of the system or do you output quantity that makes storage lesser of an issue since filament gets consumed quickly?

In an AMS you can store 4 Spools.

The Rest hast to be stored outside. So i use bags and small Containers for the Rest.

Use PrintDry it gets up to 85 C

1 Like

I guess itā€™s true - you learn something new every day. I had to Google PrintDry since I never heard of it.