Is there a way to swap from Beta to normal without having to uninstall and reinstall Bambu Studio every time for Beta testings? It won’t let me upload print profiles in Beta.
If it’s currently not possible, can you enable it for future Betas? It’d help us to save time and encourage more people to test Beta versions of Bambu Studio.
It’s on purpose, if it’s made with beta BS, and a beta can have bugs nobody wants a model to inherit those bugs and if there are new features that make that model printed as intended a user may have a failed print if he is not on beta using this particular feature
If you wish, you can have a release version installed alongside a beta version. They use separate configuration directories and shouldn’t interfere with each other. One can even run them side-by-side simultaneously (well, at least on Windows, haven’t tried that on Mac or Linux, but in theory). Be sure to uncheck the “beta version updates” option in Preferences for the one you wish to keep as release-only.
The only possible caveat is if you store custom profiles on the cloud… I’m assuming whichever profile version is saved last will then be active for all Studio instances tied to that account and will sync back to whichever other version(s) of Studio are used. Honestly I’m not sure how/if they handle that, if at all… I don’t use cloud sync and set up my own mapped/shared folders to share my custom profiles between Studio versions.
The zipped “portable” version will use the same configuration folder as an installed version (of the same type, beta vs. release). There is no practical difference besides the installer program unzipping it for you, essentially. To make it truly independent, one needs to use the (new) data config location features I described and linked to (I know the Wiki article is still on my fork, but it’s one of the things they asked me to write up and then ignored – the info does apply to official BL version).
Bambu Lab continues to make some of the most asinine decisions I’ve ever seen lately. I don’t usually mind being a tester, but when things consistently go so horribly wrong that I can’t use features I rely on (which shouldn’t have even been touched!)… I’m much less inclined to try these things out.
I regularly use the Beta versions as they become available. I typically wait until the regular version comes out and then load the things I want to upload. The two versions tend to leapfrog each other every couple of weeks or so.