Nozzle appearance

Hello everyone
I’m new to 3d printing and have little experience so far.
My X1C has printed around 20 smaller components out of PLA, PLA-CF, PETG and PAHT-CF so far.
Here is a picture of my BL C1C 0.4 nozzle after about 25 hours.

Is that normal?
How does your nozzle look?
What’s the best way to clean this?
LG
Frank

1 Like

Not unusual. You can heat it up and wipe it clean with a thick cloth.

Filament buildup on the nozzle is usually a sign of moisture absorption in the filament. PETG and PA are particularly “hygroscopic”. The moisture in the filament turns to steam in the extruder and it causes the plastic to “overextrude” and that can result in build up on the nozzle.

If you’re new to 3D printing, get yourself a filament dryer (or use the printer to dry) and dry your filament and this will be less of an issue (though the build up you’re showing here isn’t really enough to be a problem).

1 Like

Yummy. :smile:
I clean my nozzle whenever I see a significant accumulation of material – and before as well as after each print with PETG since this material loves to build up massive blobs around the nozzle when it is not in prestine condition.

For this I

• drive the toolhead all the way to the front,
  • heat the nozzle to 220 to 240 °C (depending on the material),
  • use some tweezers to pull off most of the excess material, and
  • brush of the rest with a wire brush made of brass.

That usually does the trick. On your nozzle it appears like there is already some burned material, maybe PLA having been overheated while printing PAHT-CF. Not sure if you can remove that with the soft wire brush but it is still worth a try.

THANK YOU - I am happy - especially as a beginner - about every tip here.
I will first get a filament dryer and a brass brush.
As recommended, I moved the toolhead to the front.
Then put the magnetic cover aside and pull the silicone cover down.