P1P to P1S Bambu Studio Settings

I’ve just upgraded my P1P to a P1S using Bambu Upgrade Kit. I’ve followed the instructions exactly and all seems well.

However, other than adding the Gode to enable the MC board fan there isn’t anything in the instructions about Bambu Studio printer/slicing settings. I would assume I should add the P1S in the Printer Selection menu and now be using the P1S system presets?

What are other doing and does it make any difference using P1S presets?

1 Like

As already seen here

My stattement: Doesen’t even matter which slicer you coose, you could use the X1C profile from BBL in BS (as it has the same-ish firmware, and runs on Marlin / BBL g-code), edit the start / end / layerchange g-code to remove most features and it would work the same. It only depends on what you want the machine to do.

I want the machine to be plug and play and not have to experiment with slicer settings which is what drew me to the Bambu in the first place. I’m a product designer and just want to print prototypes, I’m not interested in the hobby of 3d printer tinkering. I didn’t really want the hassle of upgrading the P1P to the P1S but need to print higher temp plastics hassle free and couldn’t afford the X1C. I assume that with the chamber being enclosed there are lower bed temperature defaults and other changes in the P1S presets for fan speeds etc?

Edit: I have added the P1S to bambu studio and printed using the P1S system presets (they show as X1C for some reason). I noticed that the bed temps are lower with the P1S presets which makes sense. Think i’ll continue to use the P1S presents. Just wonder if that the official advice from Bambu for those of us doing the P to S upgrade. If so they might want to add that to the upgrade instructions.

2 Likes

No problem, then just use the P1S profile, the workflow won’t change.