PETG crumbs and a blob at the nozzle

I’m trying to print petg, and I’m finding that the batch (3 different colors) that I have seem to be making crumbs of filament (see first pic to see what I mean), and forming a buildup of filament around the sides of the nozzle (second pic is the blob I pulled off the nozzle halfway through when I paused printing.) The print came out decently good. I was using a temp of 230, textured PEI plate set at 70, and I calibrated flow using OrcaStudio 1.5 (all of this PETG seems to under-extrude according to the calibration.)

I’ve been printing for a few years with a Prusa, and then with a Bambu since December, and I’ve never seen anything like this. Any suggestions? could it be wet filament? Over-extruded? fan setting wrong?

Crumbs, after I removed the print. These were basically spread out around the build plate like this.

This nasty blob was on the nozzle. I paused mid-print, cleaned it, and then the print finished ok.

By the end of the print, there was more buildup of filament on the nozzle.

Do a search for PTEG here. This is common with a lot of people, but not everyone. I remember reading on it somewhere how to cure it.

I did, and while the "bad quality printing PETG thread helped me a week ago, this problem with the crumbs persists. I’ll hunt some more.

mine tends to do that when I am not running it hot enough. Turn it to 250 and try again

1 Like

Hi, did you solve the problem? Please can you provide an update? Did you try the higher temp suggestion by insideoutcd?

Whenever I get a really weird things happening with a filament, especially when it breaks or snaps, my 1st go to is to dry it per the manufacturer’s suggested time and temp.

About 90% of the time that fixes it.

PETG in particular is very hydroscopic (loves water). Some are so hydroscopic they’ll take up enough water during a very long print to cause failure or major change in surface!