Print sequence by object - spacing

There is plenty of room for improvement in how bambu studio spaces the objects when printing in vase mode, say. Depending on the height of the object, if less than the height to the x-axis, you can physically get many more on the build plate, without collisions, but the software ‘plays too safe’. If it is too difficult for the software to calculate optimum spacing for a tighter layout, then please allow a manual over-ride.

I just started playing around with “Print by object” a couple weeks ago and found the wiki page super helpful. It has really helped with the print quality from a couple of the parts I was batch printing.

Yes the limits are conservative but I can understand why. A manual over ride could get you into trouble pretty quick and I doubt Bambu wants to deal with the warranty claims from making this possible.

2 Likes

I don’t think it’s all that conservative.

The height of any one object cannot be greater than the distance from the tip of the nozzle to the underside of the XY gantry rods. If any object is printed that’s taller than this, when the Z axis goes back to 0 for the next object, the top of the previously printed object will be above the gantry = bad. The slicer won’t let you do this.

But that’s not the only interference condition.

If you print any object that’s taller than the space from the tip of the nozzle to the bottom of the box the printhead is enclosed in, when the next object is printed, the printhead enclosure will smack the previously printed object. The slicer requires things to be spread out far enough the printhead’s box thing can’t bang already completed objects, too.

If what you want to print doesn’t violate any of these rules, at least the last time I tried it I had a lot more liberty over how closely things could be spaced.

1 Like