Quick speed settings and volumetric speed limit

Pretty new to 3d printing here, just got an X1C as an upgrade from my absolute Relic Dremel 3D20 circa 2015.

I am still learning many of the parameters/terms in the slicer. I was poking around trying things out and tried the “sport” and “ludicrous” quick settings during a small print (filament Y splitter) with PLA on the bambu 0.2 normal profile and it did fine, I did see the change in surface finish from the different speeds, and saw the time to completion change as well, it was a cool test.

I then tried this again while printing some AMS desiccant boxes, but on 0.28 extra draft.

I hit Ludicrous mode on the second layer and it instantly starting super under extruding (also had to look up the term for “terrible poops of plastic all over the bed”).

After doing some thinking and youtubing, I came to the conclusion it was the hot end not keeping up. I saw a youtube test where a stock X1C hot end maxed out at about 23mm3/s, but when I went into the BS preview and looked at the flow, it showed a max of 21ish mm3/s, so I had no idea why it didn’t seem to be keeping up. I then read that the quick speed settings IGNORE the flow limits, so even though my preview showed me 21mm3/s, it could have been flowing much more, and it won’t show you how much, as the preview doesn’t change based on the quick settings for speed.

To confirm this I went into BS and sliced the same file again, but this time with the volumetric speed limit at 50, and the print speeds manually changed to 166%, to replicate ludicrous speed. On this preview, it showed it was actually (trying) to flow closer to 42mm3/s, which explained what happened.