Silk-PLA printing issues

Hello All,

I am a beginner in 3D printing and just got my first printer, and it was a smooth sailing until I run into some issues. I have bought different type of plastics and decided to try them all out, and everything was alright, until I tried Silk PLA. I have yellow(gold) Silk PLA from creality, and I am printing on Bambu Lab X1 Carbon(0.4 mm nozzle). The print started just fine, but then I noticed that there was a clear sign of stringing happening. That wasn’t the main issue, print started to have bumps on the outer wall. I am not experienced enough to change settings myself, and don’t really want to mess them up :confused:

If any of you do know how to solve this issue and can help or explain to me how to fix it, I would really appreciate it! Explanation on stringing would be good as well, and definitely will be handy to learn! Thank you all in advance!

Kind regards to you all.

while I have not done so myself I suspect you will have to run some tests/calibrations to find what settings work for that filament. You may want to figure this out if you will be trying many different filaments. Best I can suggest would be orca slicer from what others have said regarding it’s capability to do this. Again, no experience there myself so maybe others will help guide you if needed.

1 Like

Whilst PLA is not as hygroscopic as other materials, the bumps may be caused by damp PLA. Check out Filament Drying Recommendations | Bambu Lab Wiki to determine if drying the filament may solve this.

Flow Rate Calibration | Bambu Lab Wiki is also worth reading (see the point about “zits”)

Also check the Creality Silk PLA specs on the box/website and confirm that the temperatures for this material have to be changed slightly from Generic PLA settings.

2 Likes

Thank you very much! I will definitely give it a thorough read.