Textured PEI plate

So, I’m still somewhat new to 3D printing. The X1C is my first FDM printer.

I noticed that downloading 3mf files for this printer pretty much everyone seems to have set the textured PEI plate in the project even for projects printed with PLA. I’ve been reading the description in the store and from what I understand is that the main difference seems to be the texture of the first layer. Yes, it’s also printed at a higher temperature than with the cool plate and supports more materials. However, pretty much all of the materials can also be printed with the engineering plate by flipping the cool plate around.

Now, looking at the pictures in the store, I don’t think that visually I like that texture given by the PEI plate better than the smooth finish of the cool plate although I haven’t ever seen such a print in real life still.

Also the PEI plate still seems to require the use of the glue stick so that doesn’t seem to be an advantage either.

Anyhow, given that so many of you seem to be using the textured PEI plate I am thinking that there must be more to it but it’s not clear to me what’s so much better there. Is there something I’m missing and an actual reason why I’d want to order that plate?

to me it is mostly about the different textures. I have good results without glue with both types of plates (PEI and cold plate).

2 Likes

the plate with texture is used to have more adherence to the plate even if with glue you solve any adhesion problem and also to have a particular texture

1 Like

P1P comes with the textured plate so maybe the models you’re downloading were designed by someone with that.

1 Like

So that confirms my suspicion that it’s really just about a matter of taste whether one prefers a smooth bottom layer or a textured one. I didn’t really have issues with bed adhesion so far with the cool plate either, so…

The PEI plate being the default shipped with the P1P may actually explain the fact that it comes across that often.