Warped bed or overhang issue?

Hi everyone,

Loving my X1C so far. Pretty addictive :slight_smile: Just al little issue I came across today. Was printing a hook and the overhang near the plate failed. I slowed down the overhang speed by 50%, still no succes.

It’s the basic pla that comes with the printer. Printsettings “Bambu pla basic” - “0.16mm Optimal @BBL X1C”.

It’s possible I expect to much right out the box but I noticed there were quite a few people reporting about a warped bed.

Any help would great.

I’ve had a look at the sliced file at 0.16/layer, and that second layer sure has a large overhang with nearly no underlying support. My suggestion would be to enter the variable height tool, and make the 2nd layer (at least) very thin, such as 0.08mm.

1 Like

Thanks! I see what you mean. It’s more model related. What a journey 3d printing is gonna be :sweat_smile:

You’re in for a ride, yes :slight_smile: Let us know how that solution goes, if you try it.

I’m new to 3D printing, too, and I’m really enjoying my new X1C. I’ve only had mine about a month. You could add some supports (I’ve been experiment with “Tree” supports and like them better than the default supports and probably make the problem go away. That hook has a very long piece that is suspended in mid-air. I’ve also found that rotating an image or just laying it out flat on the plate would solve the stringing problem or, for instance, you could print it vertically, like the letter “J” with a brim or raft and then tear off the brim or raft when it is done. There might be a little cleanup needed (i.e., sanding) needed where the brim, rath or supports touch the model.

1 Like

I saw that you included a link to the hook so I decided to print it. As in my suggestion, I rotated the image and set it up vertically. You will noticed that the slicer automatically added a brim and suggested that I also add some supports so I selected “tree” supports (in green).