Yet one more annoyance of Makerworld

I’ve been using Thingiverse since 2016. It was basically all there was for quite awhile. However, I got really annoyed with the sites lack of progress and when I discovered Printables.com I realized that this is what a model sight is supposed to look like. Among the many features are the great search engine and just a much friendlier feel. By that I mean Josef Prusa the site’s owner could have easily have created a site that is biased against competitor printers but instead, he chose to go the open route and not force you to use Prusa Slicer.

Enter Makerworld, all the other BS aside and being forced to sing for your supper only to be told at random occurrences that they changed the rules randomly.

I must have missed this the first time around when I came I saw and I left… but when did they start forcing downloads in 3MF format only? I noticed that too many models have only 3MF files and not individual model files. Yes, I realized I could open it in Bambu Studio and export the STL files from there but why force me to do that? It’s just gives off that sense of obnoxious and feels like a “Oh… you’re not one of us… OK… we’ll let you in but we don’t like your kind…” Unless I’m mistaken and it’s the model authors who have control over this but it seems to me that this is just a bullying tactic of “You will do it our way…

There is a great video by Josef Prusa on Youtube where he promoted the open source 3MF file four years ago. Yet, he didn’t force people to use that format even though he could have easily done so.

Again, contrast the Makerworld launch experience with Printables and with Printables it’s a very soft sell. They don’t bully you into anything you don’t want to do. They leave all the choices up to you. You can upload the files as 3MF, STL, STEP or a bunch of other formats. What does Bambu do? They add in just enough annoyances to make me say “You know what?.. I’m good, I’ll visit another site thank you…”

2 Likes