3rd Party Nylon

Hi All.
Anybody getting decent results printing 3rd party Nylon (non-CF)?
I never really had success printing Nylon so far. I tried numerous times with numerous settings and using Nano Polymer Adhesive from Vision Miner on my Lulzbot Taz 6 with PEI sheet. Also tried just glass.
So I was hoping that I would get results with a brand new printer on the market (my Lulzbot is 6 or so years old).

I am using the X1 Carbon and have good results with PA-CF but not with regular Nylon (Gizmo Dorks).
At least one side is pulling off the bed (larger part, pulls off left side of the bed) all the time even when using a Brim. I tried High Temp bed and Engineering plate.

Has anybody some insight? I know people have good results with Nylon for years. I just seem to not be able to get decent results.

Thanks a lot.

2 Likes

I got a good print from Taulman 645.

3 Likes

Let me guess, it’s pulling off the after about 1/4 of height, particularly on long skinny prints. I’m not an expert, but I correct for this by actually the opposite of what you did. My first layer I set to 80 degrees and all other layers 60. You gotta mitigate the temperature gradient from the bed and body to minimize the warping. I also use good old UHU glue stick for a little extra security. Now to really decrease warping and increase layer adhesion, I believe the only way is to increase chamber temp to at least 60 degrees…so it can match the bed temperature. But x1c can’t do that on its own. I’m working on adding a heater to the chamber but that’s taking some time to arrive…I’ll tell you if you wanna know if it helps. In the meantime I anneal the PA prints and have pretty decent results.

1 Like

I will try that one. Thank you !

Thank you for sharing your experience.
I would be really interested to know how it works out with an additional heater.
Please share when you have tried it.
Thanks a lot!