Dry Silica Gel with Dry Filament option

Hi everyone, I’m quite new to this world, and maybe my question doesn’t make sense, but I was wondering if it’s possible to dry the reusable silica gel using the Dry Filament function of the printer?
If it’s possible I’d prefer to avoid using the oven where I cook, or using the microwave as I read that it could break if there is not enough water to warm.

If you think it can be done, what kind of container should I use for the silica gel?
I was thinking of a sock or something similar in cotton, does that make sense?

Thanks!

Hi Tribio,

Sounds reasonable to me.

I use the microwave myself at 600W for larger lots. Or my little filament dryer for smaller batches. Keeps the printer free to print. :slightly_smiling_face:

In my experience, the little silica pearls react to heat as a consequence of overly aggressive or prolonged heating in the microwave rather than anything else. So nothing much should happen to dry pearls. For wet pearls, once you start hearing pops, you know that you are overheating them :joy:
Wisedry silica satchels (such as Amazon ASIN B0781BN1BZ) actually come with microwave instructions on them. Just keep in mind that the microwave only heats them so they are still quite green when hot. They’ll loose additional moisture while cooling down in the open.

Best wishes and happy printing,
Eno

1 Like

Hi Eno,
yes, I got exactly the Wisedry silica satchels, I opened them and put them into containers in the the AMS.
I just realised that the Dry Filament takes 12 hours!!! I think I’ll use the microwave then!

Thanks!

Hi Tribio,

Slight addendum: I printed my containers from PETG for higher temp compatibility. I tried drying the filament directly in them. That was not such a good idea as they deformed both in my dryer and the microwave.

Best wishes,
Eno

1 Like

Hey Tribio, do you have a filament dryer?

You might be interested in this:

4 Likes

Thanks for your snow flake desiccant holder. Such great design!