How do i undo the overwrite when opening from maker world?

I opened a file from maker world and it has overwritten my standard configurations… I keep getting weird messages about setting that need to be changed. I understand that sometimes it’s good to have the settings from a file. But why does it have to be my new default? Even when I close and don’t save anything? I typically don’t open Maker World files because I don’t like this happening.

2 Questions.

  1. How do I get back to what I had before I opened the file?

  2. How do I stop this from happening again?

Instead of clicking “Open in Bambu Studio,” open the file this way: Import

Then you will be asked whether you want to apply the settings or just import the 3D object.


That really shouldn’t happen… maybe you accidentally clicked on some warning?

Before importing a 3mf file, add a primitive like a cube

then drag in the 3mf and you’ll be asked if you want to open it as a project (overwrite your settings)
or import the geometry only (your settings stay and you only import the actual model)