Noob question on transfer or discard of presets

Hey everyone, I am still learning the software and settings. When I DL a project from Maker world, sometimes i will get you message asking me if want to keep or discard settings. I get confused on which way to go. If I want to keep the settings and presets that I have created, do I discard or transfer? Also, if I just click on open in Bambu Studio, it has all the presets from the designer correct? But If I wanted to use my presets, would I discard or transfer. I have noticed sometimes no matter what I click, some of the designers settings stick. Like one project it would keep the tree supports and I was trying to use regular. I have notice that with speeds too. I have mine slowed down quite a bit and print in silent mode almost all of the time, but some projects are still printing really fast. Should I just do the Raw model files, if I want to use my own settings? I know this is a lot, I am having a little issue understanding on presets and trying to learn how to slice effectively. I have an A1 combo.

In my experience, I would press discard settings. This lets you use your own settings, and not need to worry about weird filament/model settings that the designer used. If you don’t want to worry about this and do not want the popup, you can download the raw model files then drag them into Bambu studio. Also dragging it into Bambu studio just uses the designer’s settings.

1 Like

The new settings (on the right side) will be imported once you press save. Otherwise you will keep the old settings .

2 Likes

Thank you for the advise!

Thank you for explaining and the visuals!

Its hardly a Noob question, trust me a lot of people including me are left scratching their head at this choice. It really needs to be worded better.

I agree, I feel like it is trying to confuse me. lol

1 Like