PLA CF And AMS

I have a roll of PLA CF from Bambu, and I’m looking at many posts saying I should use the spool holder, and not the AMS to print this material. I was going to print up those little PTFE tube holder thingy’s, to protect the feeder thingy in the AMS.(I’m not sure of the correct nomenclature , but you know what I mean:) from the abrasivness of the material.Do I need to rig up my spool holder to run this? Please advise, as I am a newbie at this, see above.

1 Like

Yes I’d like to know more about that too. I’ve been trying to print both PA-CF and PLA-CF from the AMS but both always fail and get stuck somewhere.

1 Like

I am going to say it’s AMS compatible with official documentation from the manufacturer.

Yup, I saw that while shopping for this filament, but after some googling, I had some questions about its use. I ran a few prints of a support for a photography background, and it printed well for me. I will keep an eye on the areas it come into contact with for any wear marks, but I’m gonna keep printing…

2 Likes

Spoke too soon, it jammed up entering extruder.Trying to clear it out now.

1 Like

Update:Was able to just load a different filament just fine, PLACF would get to end of PTFE tube at extruder, then stick on something. Inspected the knob where filament enters AMS and see alot of wear, considering I printed about 100g. Inspected the filament that was pulled through to the extruder, and found small ligh colored specks, which I believe to be the material which was wore off the button in the AMS, probably why it was jamming up.
Comparing the Bambu filament to a batch of PLA cf from 3dprintingcanada, the Bambu product is visibly more abrasive, as well as to the touch. The 3dPC filament feels close to a matte PLA, a bit rougher, but loads smoother than the Bambu.