Retraction settings?

Hello everyone, I have very little experience with retraction settings and I have slowly increased the retraction from its default 30 up to 80 but I don’t seem to see any difference in the stringing between the letters on this data tag. Does anyone else have more experience or advise with retraction settings for reducing stringing?

2 Likes

30 to 80 sounds like you are talking about speed. Retraction length is much more significant than speed.

Best to mess with this with overrides in the filament profile. If more length doesn’t fix it you might try enabling wipe.

Damp filament can also cause stringing.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your kind response. I have no experience messing with retraction settings so you advise is extremely helpful… I have a filament dryer and have dried my filament before losing it into the AMS so that is not the culprit but I will change the length settings like you suggested and respond with my results

ChrisMuller - just visually, I’d also say look at drying the filament. If you’re new to drying, perhaps it’s worth considering if the temp/time was right?

How do you know what the defaults are? I see “override” but like, overriding from what to what?

1 Like

After 7 hours of trial and error… I Nailed IT!

This is the retraction settings I finished with and these are the results I achieved. Hope this helps someone in the future

13 Likes

They override the printer profile settings under extruder. I think, but, am not certain when you first check the override box the value from the printer profile is initially displayed.

It appears you’re right about the default showing up. I don’t remember seeing that before, either I missed it or it is an improvement. Either way, it helps me out, and thanks!