Top Surface Issues - A1/Silk PLA

Seems to be a bunch of ‘Top Layer’ concerns out there. I’m new to the Bambu family and just can’t get the same smooth top layer results as my other printers. My first question is to confirm that what I’m calling the ‘Top Layer’ is indeed what the slicer thinks is the top layer… Bambu Studio 1.8.2.56

I’ve slowed the ‘Speed/Top Surface’ to 100mm/s.
I’ve changed ‘Strength/Top Surface Pattern’ to ‘Monotonic’. Also tried ‘Monotonic Line’.
I’ve changed the ‘Strength/Advanced/Infill Direction’ to 0, in order to get the top/bottom layers aligned to the part as it’s arranged on the bed. Default was ‘45’ degrees.
The current ‘Top Shell Layers’ is 5, with a ‘Top Shell Thickness’ of 1mm.

The bottom surface (Layer 1) is 100% perfect, and even viewing the “top” of the bottom layer as it’s getting printed is exactly what I would want for the ‘top’ of my top layer. Seems Bambu Studio joins some settings for Top/Bottom & infill as well. I just wish I knew that magic to get this top layer looking “sellable”. Any ideas?

BTW - the angled tubes are a drill guide. Those came out 100% perfect, on the outside as well as the inside. Couldn’t be happier about those.

1 Like

I’ve achieved good results by messing with the ironing settings on the quality tab:

• ‘all top surfaces’ will do the topmost surface for a given X/Y position
  • ‘topmost only’ will only do the topmost surface in the whole object

I’d suggest you perform a cut on the object (to parts) so you end up with the base and top separate, then turn on ironing for the base.

I don’t print silk but I know people who do print with it on the Bambu lab printers.

When they want parts to look very nice.

Top surface speed 40 mm/s you can also set the top surface line width to 0.35

Outer wall speed 30 mm/s

Thank you. I am going to try those settings right now.