What's your day job

I’m curious about what everybody does for a living

I am a commercial transport refrigeration mechanic master tech for the past 15 years, also a 3rd year heavy duty mechanic and a journeyman sheetmetal worker (my previous adventures into the world of trades)

Sheet metal was boring and heavy duty mechanics was just too much heavy lifting for the line of heavy duty I was in (mostly excavators and dozers so lots of splitting tracks and hydraulic repairs like swing motors, valve banks, propel motors, hydraulic pumps, rotary manifolds, etc…)

Commercial transport refrigeration mechanics one of those thankless jobs that nobody really thinks about but the money is good and its easier than the heavy duty gig

I’m the guy that maintains and repairs the reefers on trailers and shipping containers so your frozen stuff stays frozen and your produce stays fresh while in transport to the cold storage warehouse or grocery store

So…what helps pay for your 3d printing addiction?

2 Likes

Industrial ammonia engineer, qualified as a Fitter Turner and Machinist in 1984 and worked in the fridge trade from then to date. Run a Transport and Engineering business with 8 technicians on the road. We are the agent for Carrier transport units. Maintain and repair tail lifts, cold and freezer rooms and due to the heat, do the odd AC installation and repair. We also do the repair and maintenance of 5 ammonia cold storage facilities in our area due to the demand to have a local service agent on hand.

1 Like

So you know all about the rpm sensor issues and VDX coil issues on the 7300X4 Carrier reefers lol
And the battery chargers which are on back order along with a few other little quirks lol

I still find Carriers more mechanic friendly over the TK’s especially the Thermo King S600 with its EGR system

Its a 50/50 split between Thermo King and Carrier for me as to which units I work on