A1 and Bambu Studio Issues: Z-hop retractions and Axis Limits

Hello,

I’m new to the 3D printing world but come with a wealth of experience in the machining metals industry, providing me with extensive knowledge of G codes and the kinematics of complex 5-axis machines.

I recently received a Bambu Lab A1 (without AMS) and have observed some unexpected behaviors or issues in both the machine and the BambuStudio software:

Software:
In Bambu Studio (Mac OS version 1.8.2.56), sometimes the slicer fails to generate Z movement retractions, causing the nozzle to scratch the print.
Example:
Between the lines N96280 and N96282, the slicer doesn’t generate a Z retraction, resulting in the nozzle scratching the piece. It occurs several times during the 3D printing.

Hardware:

• During the start printing process, the X and Y axes reach the limits of their travel, resulting in “collisions”. Could this be due to a misadjustment of the limit switches?
  • Also, during the start printing process, the extruder attempts to move the filament before beginning to heat it, producing a troubling sound similar to a clog. Subsequently, it starts heating the filament and functions properly once it reaches the melting temperature.

Thanks.

3 Likes

Did you file a ticket including the print logs? There shall be some kind of article in the wiki covering this as far as I remember :slight_smile:

I have noticed all of this on my A1 but havent had any real failures due to this so I figured it was normal.

Thank you for your prompt response. Currently, I haven’t filed a support ticket, as I wanted to gather insights from the community first. I appreciate the suggestion to check the wiki for relevant articles; however, I couldn’t find specific information on this issue.