AMS filament will not load

Brand new X1CC, still in setup phase. I have not yet printed anything. I went through initial X1C calibration. From viewing Youtube videos, I expected to be prompted to do AMS calibration, but I was not.

I loaded the three filament spools supplied with the X1C into the AMS. However, I cannot insert filament more than a quarter inch down the white hole on any of the four filament receivers. It is my understanding that I should be able to insert filament a couple of inches or so, and that the AMS gears would grab it and feed it through.

My understanding is that inserting filament should trigger its automatic loading and recognition of Bambu filament. It does not. Understandable, because the filament is not really inserted. The touch screen shows all four feeders to be “Empty.” Touching the feeder icons on the touch screen one by one causes the yellow gears to spin a bit, but returns a status of “Empty.”

I am a complete beginner when it comes to 3D printing. The first print I make with my X1CC will be the first print I have ever done. I’m prepared for this to be a Duh! user error, but for the life of me, I cannot figure out what’s wrong. Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Try warching this youtube video.

1 Like

Thanks for responding, Barry. Unfortunately, no go.

The problem seems to be that the throats of the feeders are simply not open, and I cannot push filament more than a few millimeters down. Pressing the white tab below the throat opening has no effect. Pushing hard only bends the filament. I’ve tried inserting the hex key just to verify that the throat is open, but again, it hits whatever is blocking the throat right away.