Is it worth it?

I am very new to 3D printing and very interested in purchasing a BL P1S printer. However, I am quite nervous about making the purchase based upon all the reviews and comments I have read in this forum. It appears that any type of support especially for a newbe like me is nearly nonexistent. Additionally, it would appear someone needs a PHD in 3D printer technology to own a BL printer… Any and all comments would be GREATLY appreciated.

3 Likes

I’ve never printed in PLA at all before and Bambu labs printers were good to go from start. There are lots of videos on Youtube and other forums for help with new questions, but honestly they just work. I’ve barely had to touch settings, and learned how to use things like supports and negative spaces within a few minutes on Youtube.

6 Likes

You will likely find any support you need here in the forum. That’s pretty typical, no matter what printer you might buy. Customer support from the manufacturer is generally about warranty claims. It’s not their job to teach you all about 3D printing. There are plenty of youtubes which do that.

8 Likes

The best support you’ll find unfortunately is community supported right here in this forum. What you won’t find are Bambu labs employees responding here as you might expect a company to do in their own discussion forum.

You stated that you’re new to 3D printing but you didn’t mentioned what level of experience you already have. Depending on your appetite for conquering tech issues or if you’re not a technically inclined person or a DIY-spirited individual as Bambu’s own blog posts describe their customer base, then 3D printing may not going to be your cup of tea.