PLA Basic Silver bad surface

Does anyone have any ideas about the surface being bad?
PLA Basic Silver Speed:%50-%100. Temperature 210-220.

1 Like

I am very new to 3D printing and cannot say I know exactly what the issue is, but so far with my PLA Basic, I needed to run a little cooler, the blue shade I am running now is at 205 degrees. Second comment would be airflow for a big part like that. If you change the pattern on the top surface where you don’t get the long straight runs it will likely print cleaner too. My 2 cents, for what they are worth!

Download the Orca slicer from SoftFever on GitHub: GitHub - SoftFever/OrcaSlicer: G-code generator for 3D printers (Bambu, Prusa, Voron, Creality, etc.)
then run the calibrations and their guide, it was extremely helpful for me.

1 Like

Did you try to dry the filament in a oven or with the drying function of the X1C? Filament can draw moisture from the air and it will influence quality of your prints a lot. Drying at 50-55°C for 8 hours might fix the bad surface if moisture is the culprit.

2 Likes

Thanks for the information. I will try it on low temperature.

This could be the problem. Tomorrow morning I will try the same piece with the new filament. I will update. Thanks for the information.

No problem, but you can never assume filament out of the vacuum bag is actually dry. Mostly it is perfectly usable, but it is never guaranteed.

Please run a Temp Tower and check the quality!

It’s such a good idea. Thank you.

1 Like

Hello,
I tried everything in the last week but no result. Looks like i have a infill problem. If I reduce the speed, the surface is smooth. In the second picture, the results are very different at different speeds, but still not very good.

1 Like

You could try gyroid infill. Maybe it‘s the same problem like the presliced benchy and grid infill :thinking:

1 Like

If you suspect an infill problem, increase the amount of top walls.

1 Like