Banding / Ringing type artifacts?

Hi all, been printing for about a year with Prusa so not a complete noob ( but not far away!! ).
I have had my X1C Carbon for about 2 weeks and have printed about 40 hours in total with PLA and 0.4 nozzle.
After having an issue with a print with missing letters on a logo it was suggested by Bambu Lab that I look at the flow rate and print out their test cube. I did the test print and was dismayed at the resulting surface defects that have appeared. It looks like a ripping effect possibly ringing but I only see this using Sunlu PETG not Sunlu PLA ( both pre-dried ).
Can anyone suggest what is going on as I would not have thought that a printer with such low hours would need re-tensioning of the belt or cleaning of the rods already!!!
A ticket has been submitted but BL are very slow in responding.

Cheers

6 Likes

In my experience this might just be a material issue. Darker colored PETG is super glossy which really shows every little imperfection. I’ve had similar issues with colorfabb’s NGEN material (Which i think is based on similar polymers) and was able to improve results by lowering temps a bit (be careful to not go too far or you’ll have bad layer adhesion)

6 Likes

Hi mate, thanks for the input but the " ringing " is not a little imperfection, you can actually feel the ridges in the print. Still waiting on an answer from Bambu Lab and trying with other filaments as well !!

1 Like

I see i wasn’t completely clear, i wasn’t putting all the blame on the material. Just pointing out that it can exaggerate print errors while matte filaments hide them.

In this case there is definitely some ringing happening. Have you tried running the machine self-calibration?
It includes a more in-depth resonance test compared to the pre-print one.

Lowering temps might also help a bit.

I’m actually printing something in the same sunlu filament (black PETG) tomorrow. I will report back if I experience similar issues.

2 Likes