Has anyone printed supports with PVA? [PLEASE HELP]

I’m not new to 3D printing, but I’m also no expert. I tried printing complex structures with PVA supports, but I am yet to have a successful print. I killed two nozzles in the process due to severe clogs, so I desperately need your assistance and wisdom. Please consider sharing your settings and knowledge with the rest of us if you used or are using PVA supports.
I discussed my previous issues in this post PVA Problem. I reduced the print setting for the PVA material significantly, but I was still having the same problems until I encountered a clog.

1 Like

I have printed with PVA supports and did not have issues. I dried the filament thoroughly before using in the AMS.

3 Likes

Could you please share your print settings for PVA as well? Also, isn’t the PVA filament already dry when you receive it with a vacuum sealed bag?

3 Likes

Hello,

I have printed PVA without problems or clogs but I only use it for support interface I see you lower your first layer speed and yes that will help when using pva on the first layer until slicer is fixed.

What pva are you using ?

I would drop the nozzle temp down and also set the recommended nozzle temp lower you do not want it to be to hot when it changes filament or pva will clog the nozzle unless you are using a pva that can take more heat soak for a longer time like Atlas can go up to 225c for 256 seconds with no flow.

I have used on the bambu;

• Form Futura Atlas Support with PLA & PETG.
  • 3dXTech Aquatek x1 USM but I have not used this with PLA as it’s my high temp filaments like ASA.
  • I have also used petg for support interface but it depends on the part design.

The photos is what I have used for PLA when using Atlas for the support interface only.

I’m using Polymaker PolyDissolve S1 as both support interface and the support itself as I have read about problems printing PVA on PLA causes.