LAN only mode is terrible - this is what Bambu Lab should do about it

Bambu Lab please open source the bambu_network.dll so that the community can diagnose and submit fixes for networking problems.

In general Bambu Lab software has problems, but network communication is the biggest problem and affects almost every user. Many posts have discussed cloud issues and network security issues. We users want our printers to be reliable!

When I bought my P1P I thought it supported LAN only mode, based on postings that I read. However, Bambu Lab had not provided a single source of correct information and LAN only mode was only supported on the X1C at that time.

Now the P1P has LAN only mode and it is terrible. I’ll discuss it in another post.

I have been working with Bambu Studio developers to try to diagnose all the problems with LAN only mode for weeks. I am a software developer so tracking down the problem should not be hard and I have spent many days running tests and providing more information.

The problem is - Bambu Lab is keeping all network communication proprietary. Bambu Studio downloads and uses two DLLs that are not part of the open source GitHub repo. The bambu_network.dll crashes frequently, but can’t be debugged. The network requests timeout most of the time. MQTT should be maintaining a constant connection, but Bambu Studio has to reconnect to the printer every time it does something because the connection is not maintained.

Bambu Lab - I hope that you are reading this. Your hardware is great! Your have already stated that you are not really a software company. All your networking problems would be fixed almost immediately if you would just open source the printer API and the networking DLL code. The community has experts that would rapidly find and fix network communications problems.

I am tired of having Bambu Studio hang every single time I send a print to my P1P. I have to restart it to then start the camera feed.

17 Likes